Adelaide

And that’s it! 1255km and 14 days after having left Melbourne, I am at Victoria Square right in the middle of Adelaide! This first stretch of the journey is done, and now awaits the real ride, the long one through the hot and dry Red Centre of Australia, the red desert that stretches for thousands of kilometers in the middle of this vast country.

After our previous stop at Milicent (with the stormy winds and unlimited-access computers of the library), we set out the next day and completed the ride to Adelaide in 3 and a half days, a total of about 435km.

Our route was going up along the coast, including 145km along the Coorong, a wetland that stretches like a very long lake between the coast and the road. The long distances gave us a small idea of what it can be like to ride for 100s of kms without a lot in between. There is still the odd rest area or service stations, and although there are not many people, there is a steady traffic of tourists (and trucks). That’s the idea I have of riding through the outback. Pretty remote, but not exactly empty like everyone tends to think! We also met some other cycle tourists, a couple going the opposite way, two German women who had already cycled everywhere in New Zealand, and we even met the Taiwanese cyclist again, he had blown a tire and got a lift to Meningie, we saw his bike, he had fixed his tire with duct-tape!

I am pretty reassured about covering long distances on a bike. we did 106km on a very bad day of headwinds. It’s not easy either, but doing more than 100 in one day is something you can reasonably rely on, and that’s a good thing! But I also learned that headwinds don’t just slow you down, they destroy your legs by having you forcing very irregularly, and they can bring your morale down, with fatigue and frustration from not seeing the kms go up!

Anyway, I know have a precious experience of 14 days of cycle-travel, and I can prepare myself for a longer trip through the rougher outback. I know what it’s like to cycle with a very heavy bike, to rest in a tent under the stars every night after having cycled the whole day, to be sore all over, in the legs from the pedaling, in the back from the sitting, in the arms and hands from holding the handlebar all the time, in the fingers from the clenched hand taking all the vibrations of the road. But in a way, although it’s hard, I also see that it is something you can prepare yourself for, and if you take it one turn of pedals at a time, you’ll get as far as you want! And what I want is to go to the other side of the country, and through the desert, see it’s vast stretches of nothingness, and unspoiled night skies.

But before that, I will enjoy a 3-day break in the city, get some rest, give some thought about the experience from the two first weeks of cycling, check the things I will need and the things I can get rid of, check the distances and places of interest along the way, check more information, and make sure Red the bike is good to go a few more 1000kms!

The ride must go on! (after a break!)

11 thoughts on “Adelaide

  1. DDZ, faut que tu mettes sur ton blog une section “goodies” où on pourrait acheter des trucs sympa genre :
    – Le T-shirt officiel, version homme et femme, avec différents colories et la possibilité de le faire floquer avec son nom,
    – Des petites répliques de ton vélo, en plastique ou en canettes de coca recyclées, pour les enfants,
    – un petit jeu flash ou tu joues un mec en vélo avec un T-shirt jaune et ou il faut éviter les camions et les kangourous en appuyant sur les touches “droite” et “gauche” du clavier (si tu appuies sur “shift” le vélo peut sauter au-dessus des caillasses et des rondins de bois).

    Faudrait faire également une section “Grand jeu LongRedRide”
    Ce serait un petit jeu hebdomadaire où tu posterais une photo de ta route avec la question “Where would DDZ go ?”… Et le premier qui répond correctement gagne un des goodies !

    Qu’en penses tu ?

    Béco

    • Qu’est ce que tu penses d une promotion en tant que directeur marketing de ma nouvelle multinationale franco-roumano-australienne? Je peux te proposer un entretien skype, tu peux egalement deposer ton CV a ma secretaire Karima Ben Becker, disponible le mercredi entre 9h et 9h15 au bureau de Cayenne.
      En tout cas j adore ton idee mec tu as du potentiel! je crois que ma preferee c est quand meme le jeu flash. et pour les plus geeks un petit quizz des constellations aussi!

      • Dream Job ! ! ! Moi je dis Banco !
        Je commence quand ?
        En tant que CV j’ai pas encore beaucoup d’expérience professionnelle par contre j’ai un master en “Marketing des évènements sportifs, touristiques et éco-responsables” où j’ai suivi le filière “Cyclo-tourisme en pays exotique”.
        Je sais que ça colle pas “exactement” avec ton projet mais par contre je sais faire preuve d’une grande capacité d’adaptation.
        Par contre j’ai aussi une licence en “Ressources humaines” et je peux te dire que ta secrétaire Karima Ben Becker tu peux la virer, elle sert à rien, elle répond jamais au tel ! File moi son salaire et je ferai des merveilles !

        béco

      • Si tu crois que tu vas m embobiner avec ton blabla de marchands de tapis d Ispahan, tu te fourres le doigt dans l oeil mon ami!

  2. Hey crazy guy, I just started reading your blog and I loooove it. I admit to be jealous as though I propably would’ve been giving up after two days of excessive cycling..haha!

    Looking forward to reading bout your next adventures!
    X Friedi

    • Hey Friedi du verruckter papierkorb was geht ab? I haven t created a german section of the website with random insults and flying paperbaskets. Maybe one day! Thanks for your message and yeah I’ll send news from the desert!

  3. Alors là je ne peux que te conseiller de faire attention!!!!!

    Les CVs traffiqués, ça court les rues de nos jours. Heureusement que je les repère facilement… Je peux te dire qu’un “master cyclo-tourisme” (bien que magnifiquement inventé +10 000 pour celle ci) c’est du Flan mon beau DDz.
    Il ne faut pas écouter ces opportunistes, Il cherche un moyen de se faire de la tune sur ta sueur…(moi c’est sur sa soe…. heu non j’ai rien dit).

    Toutefois l’idée du jeu Flash serait sympa…mais il ne faut pas oublier les magnets, les décapsuleurs et les portes clés…

    Plus sérieusement je pense qu’il manque une petite carte de l’australie avec une balise pour pouvoir te suivre “en direct” dans le désert.

    Des bisouS

    PS : Pour le jeu n’oublie pas de coder les bourrasques de vent et les thailandais stochastiques…

    PS2 ; N’oublie pas la taille enfant pour les Tshirts

  4. Way to go, mec !

    Profite bien de ta pause (bien meritee)

    Regarde en pharmacie si ils vendent pas des kits de peau de rechange – a velo sous le soleil du desert ca doit pas etre triste 🙂

    Bises,
    *Georges et Sandra*

    • Yo frerot! pour la peau je vais taper la discute avec quelques serpents du desert histoire d echanger des conseils “mue” pour se sentir. . . “mieux dans sa peau”! plus serieusement mon plan contre le soleil est surtout d etre couvert au max avec des vetements legers et qui protegent un peu du cagnard car c est vrai que ca va taper!

Leave a Reply

